Statewide Alligator Hunt Permit

General Informationmini-gator.jpg

A Statewide Alligator Hunt Permit is a type of limited entry permit required to participate in the Statewide Alligator Harvest Program. The Statewide Alligator Hunt is one of FWC’s most popular limited entry hunts, and more than ten thousand applicants will apply for about five thousand permits on alligator management units that are established with sustainable harvest quotas to provide recreational opportunities for residents and non-residents. 

Each alligator hunting permit includes two CITES tags, authorizing the holder to harvest two alligators.  The harvest areas and hunt dates are specific for each permit, and the permits specify the boundaries or limitations of the harvest area.  The statewide alligator hunting season begins on August 15 and ends on the morning of November 1.  The first four weeks of the season are divided into four quota weeks, and each permit is assigned one of those weeks. Legal hunting hours are 5 p.m. through 10 a.m.    

Applicants who are awarded a Statewide Alligator Hunt permit will be charged automatically.  The Alligator Trapping License/Permit and two CITES tags will be mailed to the successful applicants within 6 weeks of purchase.

A Florida hunting or fishing license is not required to participate in the statewide alligator hunt.

Click "Application Worksheet" at the bottom of this page for specific application details or the “Harvest Units, Maps and Quotas” for area-specific information.

Application Dates & Worksheet 

Phase I: Random Drawing
Application Period: May 6-16, 2016
Authorizations, Drawing and Charges:  May 17-19, 2016

Phase II: Random Drawing
Application Period: May 20-30, 2016
Authorizations, Drawing and Charges:  May 31-June 2, 2016

Phase III: Random Drawing
Application Period: June 3-13, 2016
Authorizations, Drawing and Charges:  June 14-16, 2016

Leftovers Phase:  Immediate Issuance
June 17, 2016 at 10am EST until sold out

View Full Site

Outlook Email Web Access

© 1999-2017 All Right Reserved. State of Florida.